Investiture ceremony of eight Knights of the Legion of Honour at the Shrine

On Thursday the 12th of November, the President of the France-Australie Friendship group, Senator Marc Daunis, decorated eight veterans of World War II with the Legion of Honour, the highest distinction in the French order. This moving ceremony took place at the Shrine of Remembrance, Melbourne.


Mr Marc Daunis thanked the veterans in a beautiful a speech translated by Mrs Myriam Boisbouvier-Wylie, Honorary Consul General of France in Victoria, for their role in the liberation of France from the foreign occupation during the Second World War. The eight honoured Veterams are Mr Robert BELL, Mr Samuel CAVANAGH, Mr Francis JORDAN, Mr Gerald McPHERSON, Mr Kenneth MUNRO, Mr Thomas RALPH, Mr Ronald WATERS and Mr Edwin WELLS.

myriam senateur

Senator Marc Daunis, making Mr Robert Bell a knight of the Legion of Honour.