AALITRA Translation Awards 2024 sponsored by ISFAR

The Australian Association for Literary Translation (AALITRA) invites entries for the 2024 AALITRA Translation Awards, with prizes kindly sponsored by by ISFAR (Institute for the Study of French Australian Relations

Prizes are awarded for a translation of a selected prose text and for a translation of a selected poem. The focus of the AALITRA Translation Awards is on a different language each year the awards are offered. In 2024, the focus language is French.

Entries are to be on the Submission Form (see also Conditions of Entry).

All enquiries should be sent to aalitratranslationawards@gmail.com

Closing date: 24 May, 2024!


  • The prose text for translation is by Chantal Danjou, from D’autres que les hommes, a recent novel not yet published.
  • The poetry text is by Marilyne Bertoncini, unpublished poem, December 2023.


  • $500 prize for Best Prose Translation
  • $500 prize for Best Poetry Translation
  • $250 prizes for Honourable Mentions in each category

Judges: Dominique Hecq (Coordinating Judge), Frances Egan, Penny Hueston, Brian Nelson

Awards Ceremony: At the Awards Ceremony, scheduled for 18 September 2024, winners will be awarded the above monetary prizes, together with book prizes and one year’s additional membership of AALITRA.

Prize-winning entries will be read out at the Awards Ceremony. They will also be published on the AALITRA website and in AALITRA’s peer-reviewed, open-access journal, The AALITRA Review, together with comments from each of the translators regarding their approach to translation.